Sign of Life Resort > Ayurveda > Doshas

Doshas are the three energies in the body called Vata – Pitta – Kapha. They consist of the five elements (ether, air, fire, earth, water). The target is the balance of all three doshas. In case of a disease one of the three doshas is not in balance. The Ayurvedic treatments help you to bring your body back into balance.

Vata (Ether and Air)

Vata (Ether and Air)

The Vata Dosha is responsible for all movements in the body and is the most important of the three doshas. If vata becomes imbalanced for a long time, it can also cause the other two doshas (Pitta or Kapha) to become imbalanced. Vata is the main driver or mover of the body.

Vata provides the following functions:

  • All eliminations (urine, sweat etc.)
  • Controls all movements of the body (both physical and mental), including such things as respiration, heart beat, motivation and concentration of muscles
  • Relays all sensory input from the various sense organs to the brain

5 types of vata dosha

  • Prana Vata – Governs inhalation, perception through the senses and governs the mind. Located in the brain, head, throat, heart and respiratory organs.
  • Udana Vata – Governs speech, self expression, effort, enthusiasm, strength and vitality. Located in the navel, lungs and throat.
  • Samana Vata – Governs peristaltic movement of the digestive system. Located in the stomach and small intestines.
  • Apana Vata – Governs all downward impulses (urination, elimination, menstruation, sexual discharges etc.) Located between the navel and the anus.
  • Vyana Vata – Governs circulation, heart rhythm, locomotion. Centred in the heart and permeates through the whole body.

Signs of balance

If the Vata is in balance with the other Doshas, the Vata type is enthusiastic, concentrated and positive. The Vata type has the ability to react quickly and adapt itself to new situations easily. He or she is attentive and creative, sleeps well and his removal system works efficiently. The immune system of the Vata type is very strong.

Signs of the imbalance

All following symptomes or combinations can be perfidious signs that the Vata is in imbalance.

  • Rough skin
  • Fragile fingernails
  • Dry tongue
  • Gray complexion
  • Blockage
  • Dry cough
  • Dry eyes or lips
  • Depression or loss of joy in life
  • Problems of the breathing system
  • Sleeplessness or worried sleep
  • Unspecific exhaustion symptom
  • Worry and confusion
  • Dizziness
  • High blood pressure
  • Muscle tensions
  • Neuralgia
  • Shivering or shudder
  • Cramps
  • Decrease in weight
  • Nervous stomach ache
Pitta (Fire and Water)

Pitta (Fire and Water)

Pitta is associated with fire or heat and is responsible for the metabolism in the body. Wherever there is transformation, there is Pitta. 

Pitta provides the folowing functions:

  • Metabolism; from digestion of food to transformation of all other materials
  • Thermogenesis maintains the proper body temperature
  • Vision converts external images into optic nerve impulses
  • Appetite the feeling of hunger and thirst
  • Comprehension of information into knowledge
  • Courage & Braveness 
  • Complexion gives color and softness to skin


5 types of pitta dosha

  • Pachaka Pitta – Governs digestion of food which is broken down into nutrients and waste. Located in the lower stomach and small intestine.
  • Ranjaka Pitta – Governs formation of red blood cells. Gives colour to blood and stools. Located in the liver, gallbladder and spleen.
  • Alochaka Pitta – Governs visual perception. Located in the eyes.
  • Sadhaka Pitta – Governs emotions such as contentment, memory, intelligence and digestion of thoughts. Located in the heart.
  • Bharajaka Pitta – Governs lustre and complexion, temperature and pigmentation of the skin. Located in the skin.

Sign of balance

If this igneous element is compensated, one finds a high energy level combined with contentment, internal rest and harmony. The appetite is big and digestion good. The guise of the Pitta is graceful and skin is soft. All hormones are weighed out. Above all, however, the Pitta type with itself will experience enlarged intellectual abilities, more creativity and success. Pitta types should drink a lot of water and stay possibly in cool area. The ideal place of residence lies close to water.

Signs of imbalance

All following symtome or combinations of it can be perfidious signs that the Pitta is in imbalance.

  • Strong sweating and heat ebullitions
  • Worse breath
  • Sleeping trouble
  • Bad digestion
  • Weak liver
  • Hormone lack
  • Heartburns
  • Skin rash
  • Excessive hunger
  • Yellowish complexion and bad skin
  • Inflammation
  • Irritant bowel
Kapha (Water & Earth)

Kapha (Water & Earth)

Kapha is the heaviest of the three doshas. It provides the structures and the lubrication that the body needs. These qualities help to balance Vata’s movement and Pitta’s metabolism.

Kapha provides the following functions:

  • Strength to perform physical tasks
  • Moistness & Lubrication to prevent excessive friction from occurring between the various parts of the body
  • Stability to add the necessary grounding aspect to both mind and body
  • Mass & Structure to provide fullness to body tissues
  • Fertility & Virility to produce healthy offspring



5 types of Kapha dosha

  • Kledaka Kapha – Governs moistening and liquefying of the food in the initial stages of digestion. Located in the upper part of the stomach.
  • Avalambhaka Kapha – Governs lubrication of the heart and lungs. Provides strength to the back, chest and heart. Located in the chest, heart and lungs.
  • Tarpaka Kapha – Governs calmness, happiness and stability. Nourishment of sense and motor organs. Located in the head, sinuses and cerebrospinal fluid.
  • Bodhaka Kapha – Governs perception of taste, lubricating and moistening of food. Located in the tongue, mouth and throat.
  • Shleshaka Kapha – Governs lubrication of all joints. Located in the joints.

Signs of balance

If Kapha is compensated, this type is miraculous: a good friend, patiently, compassionately, courageously and internally strengthened. Physically Kaphas are stocky, with strong joints, a strong stature, a good nutritional condition, a big sexual strength and a good digestion. Although they avoid sport possibly, they have a bigger perseverance than the other Doshas if they were persuaded, nervertheless, to the training. Kapha provides in the body for restate strength against illnesses and promotes the healing process. Furthermore it adjusts the formation even of the smallest body cells and supports all mental processes with stabilizing effect, e.g. loyalty, forbearance and love.

Signs of the imbalance

All following symptomes or combinations can be perfidious signs that the Kapha is in imbalance:

  • Bleaching, paled skin
  • Cold´s delicacy
  • Weak digestion and overweight
  • Frequent sleepy
  • Weak metabolism
  • Disturbances of the breath system
  • Edemas
  • Allergies
  • Depressions
  • Jealousy
  • Apathy or sluggishness
  • Impotence